“That tastes like more!”

I bake once a week for a group of children that attend a homework group that I head up.  They’re great guinea pigs because they’ll eat just about anything AND tell you what they really think of it!  I’ve been wanting to try a ginger sandwich cookie and I figured I had the perfect little taste testers.  I searched my cook books for a new cookie recipe as my old standby wasn’t as dark as I’d like.  I thought I’d found the perfect recipe with lots of molasses and a spicy mixture of black pepper, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and ginger. I could imagine the soft, chewy, spicy morsels as I mixed up the fragrant dough. I kept watching my oven waiting for the cookies to spread…and watching …..and watching.  The cookies remained like solid half balls, and I quickly pulled them out of the oven before they became rocks!  As I whipped up a batch of cinnamon buttercream, I crossed my fingers that it would be the magic that would turn these monstrosities into edible bits.  The cookies looked better sandwiched together..kind of like whoopie pies.  The taste was just okay, but this was to be today’s treat as time was running out.   I passed the cookies out to the children and watched to see their reactions.  Surprisingly they gobbled them up and one little guy showed his approval by saying “that tastes like more” as he looked around hoping for seconds.  Mission accomplished – full tummies and happy smiles!

Ginger Whoopie Pies

Ginger Whoopie Pies

 

Leave a Reply

