Two Family Favourites

It was a quiet weekend…..just the two of us….and two dogs.  The newlyweds are finally taking a honeymoon so we’ve got their pup as well.  It’s dark and gloomy again.  Where has the sunshine gone?  If you’ve been reading my posts for awhile, you know by now that gloomy weather almost always results in baking.  Today I decided to bake some family favourites using recipes that my Mom used when I was growing up.  The first is peanut butter cookies….nothing special.  However, this recipe has never failed me.  I use crunchy peanut butter to add texture and the flavour of the peanut butter is enhanced by using both brown and white sugar.  I bake them until just set so the inside remains soft.  They’re perfect every time!

Peanut butter cookies

Peanut butter cookies

The next item on the menu is banana cake.  I’m going to share this recipe with you today.  Again, the original recipe belongs to my Mom.  I always add chocolate chips but walnuts would be nice too.  I think what makes this recipe unique is the combination of buttermilk and baking soda.  The scientist in me (hahaha) says that it is the interaction between these two items that causes bubbling and therefore lightness in the cake.  Today I baked the recipe as muffins.  Either way, I highly recommend this recipe.  Enjoy!

Banana chocolate chip muffins

Banana chocolate chip muffins

BANANA CAKE

1/2 c. soft margarine, 1 c white sugar, 2 eggs, 1 c mashed ripe banana, 1/4 c buttermilk, 1 t baking soda, 2 c flour, 2 t baking soda, 1/4 t salt, 1 t vanilla, 3/4 c chocolate chips or walnuts

Combine baking soda with buttermilk and let it sit while you prepare the rest of the batter.  Grease and flour an angel food pan or 24 muffin cups.  Cream sugar and margarine well.  Add eggs, vanilla and banana and mix until well combined.  Add milk mixture and stir well.  Add dry ingrdients and mix well.  Stir in chocolate chips or nuts.  Pour into prepared pan and bake at 350 until centre springs back.

Leave a Reply

