‘Tis the season

Although I’m definitely on the mend, my senses of taste and smell are still not up to snuff….not the best time to bake or cook.  However, I grabbed the Our Compliments booklet on my way out of Sobeys and a cookie recipe inside caught my eye.  It combined some of my favourite holiday tastes in a buttery sugar cookie.  I couldn’t wait to try it.  To the basic sugar cookie, you add coconut and coconut extract, chopped pistachios and chopped dried cranberries. How could you possibly go wrong?  You refrigerate the rolled dough overnight and I was baking before 8 am this morning.  The cookies looked great with just one exception.  The recipe called for you to roll the dough in coconut before baking.  Even though I lowered my oven temp. to 325, this coconut browned too much for my taste.  And speaking of taste, my taste-tester pronounced them delicious and even more so with a steaming cup of coffee.  I highly recommend that you pick up the booklet and try these little gems yourselfOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA.

Leave a Reply

