A Keeper

Simply scrumptious

Simply scrumptious

I LOVE sugar cookies.  They’re fun to cut into shapes and decorate to fit virtually any theme…..but they’re fiddly and time-consuming.  And I get neck and shoulder aches when I decorate for too long…..I hate anything that reminds me of how old I’m getting!  I was thrilled when I discovered a recipe for sugar cookie bars.  My pleas had been answered…..the deliciousness of sugar cookie dough with the ease of a one-pan bar.  These would be a perfect treat for my Thursday group of kids, one of whom was celebrating a birthday.  The recipe called for the bars to be frosted but too much sugar is a dangerous territory for these kids so I decided on sprinkles…who doesn’t like sprinkles?  I baked the bars until just set so the texture remained soft in the centre.  They cut easily and neatly into squares and were just sweet enough.  The kids gobbled them down and so did the adults.  This recipe is definitely a keeper!

Leave a Reply

