Snowy Baking

My backyard - Feb./13

My backyard – Feb./13

It’s late February and winter is still going strong.  I’m not a fan of winter, but I cannot deny the beauty of what Ol’ Man Winter created in my backyard this week.  Everything was covered in a soft, white blanket of fluff. It was a serene and peaceful scene.  I wanted to stay cocooned inside my warm kitchen where  I could overlook the backyard.  I don’t need much encouragement to get me to bake but I had a few apples in the fruit bowl that had seen better days . They needed to go! I don’t know why I even buy apples.  I don’t really like them. They make me thirsty and they make my dentures fall out!  KIDDING!!! I didn’t have enough apples for a pie or for a crisp and I had made apples with gingerbread twice already.  I thought I would try an apple upside down cake.  I adapted an  old recipe for pineapple upside down cake by adding cinnamon to the apples, and using brown sugar and cinnamon in the cake batter. It was delicious with a steaming cup of coffee while I sat at the kitchen table watching the squirrels jump from one snowy branch to another.  What a perfect morning!

Apple upside down cake

Apple upside down cake

2 comments

  1. ok. yum! that looks delicious

    1. Thanks, Amy. It was yummy…caramel and apple.

Leave a Reply

