A New Version of Lemon Tarts

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI think I might have a problem.  You see, for the last post, I was motivated by a song.  Now, for this post, my choice was influenced by the cover of the most recent edition of Canadian Living magazine.  I didn’t know I was so suggestible!

Lemon is such a springy flavour.  I love it…any time of the year.  What differentiates these lemon tarts from your run-of-the-mill variety is the crust.  This recipe uses a shortbread crust instead of the usual pastry.  The Canadian Living recipe was easy, but time-consuming because of the refrigeration times for both the crust and the lemon curd.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The crust is a basic shortbread pressed into mini tart tins and then placed in the fridge for an hour before baking. The tarts are cooled before filling with a cooled lemon curd. The tarts are then topped with a swirl of meringue and broiled until golden. I always have trouble with this final step as my oven has very obvious hot spots. Maybe the Easter Bunny will bring me a hand-held torch so I can have picture-perfect toasted goods. I liked the tarts, although I prefer more lemon to crust ratio. I think I would try this recipe again, but perhaps as a pie where the deeper plate would allow for more yummy lemon curd. Happy spring!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

