Luck O’ the Irish

Happy St. Paddy's

Happy St. Paddy’s

If we weren’t too old and disinterested in social media, I’m sure this picture would be posted all over facebook…but I saved it just for you!  Yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day and our daughter arrived for a visit (to mooch dinner) with a bag full of seasonal goodies to humiliate her parents.  She walked in the door in her green t-shirt, emerald hair bow and green eye-shadow looking quite stunning…shhhh, don’t tell her I said that…and promptly convinced her Dad to dress up.  He’ll do almost anything for his girls!

I always try to prepare healthy meals when she comes for dinner as she always brags about how delicious and nutritious her meals are at home…yes, she’s a good cook, but I win hands-down in the baking category!  Here’s my dilemma: I want to have dessert, but I don’t want to blow a lot of calories on it…yet I don’t want to sacrifice taste.  I’ve been eyeing a whip cream knock-off whipped coconut cream on Pinterest for some time now.  It seems too simple and too healthy to be tasty. I decided to make a dessert loosely (and I DO mean loosely) based on tiramisu to try it out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Wow, was I impressed! The result was a little denser than whipped cream, but acceptable nevertheless, and the taste was sweet and pleasant. I mixed some raspberries in with the cream and layered it with coffee soaked ladyfingers. I topped the layers with a dusting of cocoa. It was delicious! Next time, I might add a little Baileys to the cream as it was less coconutty than I expected and besides, you can never go wrong with Baileys! So there it is my friends, a lower calorie dessert with good flavour, texture and appearance. I know it wasn’t green to stay with the theme of the day…but I’m not Irish, just lucky that my new recipe was successful! What’s your favourite healthy dessert?
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One comment

  1. Hi MaryAnn,
    Tell Steve I love the look ! =) The lemon tarts were amazing. Grace thought the top was marshmallow and she gobbled it up.

Leave a Reply

