Lunchlady Peanut Butter Bars

Recipes for these bars are all over the internet and they don’t vary much from one recipe to another.  I have to admit that I was first attracted to the recipe because “Lunchlady” was in the title! What is a lunchlady anyway?  We didn’t have lunchladies when I went to school nor when I was on the other side of the desk as a teacher.  But I like the sound of it!  I envision a plump motherly sort with a starched apron and a hairnet bearing trays of warm, soft peanut butter and chocolate squares.  Mmmmm….so I became the lunchlady and baked these for my Thursday group of guinea pigs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I changed the recipe a little, of course because I thought the sugar content would be just too high for my particular group of children.  I was very pleased with the end result, and so were the kids.  This recipe makes a large batch and the bars are soft, thick and sweet so large servings are not needed….but they sure got requested!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The base is a moist oatmeal and peanut butter cookie.  I topped it with a soft peanut butter and chocolate icing.  Here’s the recipe with my changes.  Try it!  You’ll be the best lunchlady in your house!

LUNCH LADY PEANUT BUTTER BARS

¾ c  soft butter or margarine

¾ c  white sugar

¾ c  brown sugar

2 eggs

1 ½ tsp vanilla

¾ c  smooth peanut butter

1 ½ c oats

1 ½ c flour

1 ¼ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

Cream together margarine and sugars.  Add egg and vanilla and beat well.  Add in peanut butter until well blended.  Add your dry ingredients and mix until completely incorporated.  Spread in a well-greased jelly roll pan and bake at 350 for 15 – 20 minutes until the edges are just brown.  Cool for about 15 minutes and then top with the filling.

Filling: ¾ c smooth peanut butter, whipped until fluffy.

Prepare frosting and pour on top of filling.  Keep in fridge until serving.

Frosting: Boil together: ½ c melted margarine, 2 tbsp cocoa powder and ½ c milk.   Remove from heat and stir in 1 tsp vanilla and 3 ½ c powdered sugar.

MY CHANGES: I baked the base as directed.  I eliminated the filling.  For my frosting, I used ¾ c peanut butter, whipped.  I added 1 tsp vanilla and about a cup of powdered sugar.  It was too stiff so I added some milk until it was creamy. (perhaps 3 tbsp?) I melted ½ pkg of chocolate chips and added them to the frosting.  I frosted the base while it was still a little warm.

Leave a Reply

